

Brussels, 6. May 2021

Dear President von der Leyen,
Dear Executive Vice President Dombrovskis,
Dear Vice President Schinas,
Dear Commissioner Breton,
Dear Commission Kyriakides,

late last night the United States Trade Representative Katherine Tai released a statement that the Biden-Harris administration will support the waiving of intellectual property protection for COVID-19 vaccines.

We, the undersigned Members of the European Parliament, urge you to drop your opposition and to actively support the adoption of the proposal for a temporary 'Waiver from certain provisions of the TRIPS Agreement for the prevention, containment and treatment of COVID-19.

According to the data from the WHO there have been 154,815,600 confirmed cases of COVID-19, including 3,236,104 deaths<sup>1</sup>. There is an urgent need for strong international collaboration to speed and scale up manufacturing, to expand the supply of effective medical technologies and to work with governments and manufacturers to ensure fair and equitable allocation of the vaccines for all countries so that everyone, no matter where they live, is protected.

We are experiencing shortages of supply and few wealthy countries were able to secure the biggest share of vaccine doses, leaving a majority of the global population living in low-and-middle income countries without any opportunity to receive vaccine

-

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> https://covid19.who.int/ (6. May 2021)



doses. At the same time pharmaceutical companies approach to intellectual property remains business-as-usual, limiting manufacturing and supply capacities.

While we fully support the European Union's financial contributions to the Access to COVID-19 Tools Accelerator and its vaccine pillar the COVAX Facility for the purchase of potential COVID-19 vaccines, it is simply not enough. The exclusionary effect of patents is currently leading to a limited market supply and reduced access to medicines as well as pharmaceutical products. This current global inequity on access to live saving vaccines is unacceptable. The Union needs to take concrete steps to ensure the sharing of COVID-19 vaccine technology and know-how with all potential manufacturers.

We are at crossroads and the European Union, represented by the European Commission should act in solidarity, prioritize public health and most importantly join the United States and other countries in supporting the Waiver Proposal.

## Sincerely,

Tiemo Wölken, S&D

Alex Agius Saliba, S&D

Alviina Alametsä, Greens/EFA

Francois Alfonsi, Greens/EFA

Rasmus Andresen, Greens/EFA

Eric Andrieu, S&D

Mikos Androulakis, S&D

Marc Angel, S&D

Attila Ara-Kovács, S&D

Maria Arena, S&D

Manon Aubry, The Left

Margrete Auken, Greens/EFA

Marek Balt, S&D

Katarina Barley, S&D

Pernando Barrena, The Left

Robert Biedroń, S&D

Izaskun Bilbao Baranadica, RE

Benoît Biteau, Greens/EFA

Tiziana Beghin, NI

Gabriele Bischoff, S&D

Patrick Breyer, Greens/EFA

Michael Bloss, Greens/EFA

Reinhard Bütikofer, Greens/EFA

Marek Belka, S&D



Brando Benifei, S&D

Gabriele Bischoff, S&D

Malin Björk, The Left

Milan Brglez, S&D

Saskia Bricmont, Greens/EFA

Manuel Bompard, The Left

Biljana Borzan, S&D

Marc Johan Botenga,

Udo Bullmann, S&D

Delara Burkhardt, S&D

Damien Carême, Greens/EFA

González Casares, S&D

Fabio Massimo Castaldo, NI

Anna Cavazzini, Greens/EFA

Sara Cerdas, S&D

Mohammad Chahim, S&D

Leila Chaibi, The Left

Antoni Comín, NI

David Cormand, Greens/EFA

Ignazio Corrao, Greens/EFA

Katalin Cseh, RE

Ciarán Cuffe, Greens/EFA

Josianne Cutajar, S&D

Rosa D'Amato, Greens/EFA

Gwendoline Delbos-Corfield,

Greens/EFA

Karima Delli, Greens/EFA

Anna Deparnay-Grunenberg,

Grens/EFA

Estrella Dura Ferrandis, S&D

Pascal Durand, RE

Bas Eickhout, Greens/EFA

Cornelia Ernst, The Left

Ismail Ertug, S&D

Cyrus Engerer, S&D

Eleonora Evi, Greens/EFA

Tanja Fajon, S&D

Cindy Franssen, EPP

Daniel Freund, Greens/EFA

Mario Furore, NI

Lina Gálvez Muñoz, S&D

Evelyne Gebhardt, S&D

Jens Geier, S&D

Raphaël Glücksmann, S&D

Charles Goerens, RE

Markéta Gregorova

Claude Gruffat, Greens/EFA

Sylvie Guillaume, S&D

José Gusmão, The Left

Martin Häusling, Greens/EFA

Yannick Jadot, Greens/EFA

Romana Jerković, S&D

Agnes Jongerius, S&D

Marcel Kolaja, Greens/EFA

Łukasz Kohut, S&D

Petros Kokkalis, The Left

Kateřina Konečná, The Left

Elena Kountoura, The Left

Dietmar Köster, S&D

Sergey Lagodinsky, Greens/EFA



Aurore Lalucq, S&D

Philippe Lamberts, Greens/EFA

Katrin Langensiepen. Greens/EFA

Pierre Larrouturou, S&D

Javi López, S&D

César Luena, S&D

Benoit Lutgen, EPP

Colm Markey, EPP

Marisa Matias, The Left

Sara Matthoeu, Greens/EFA

Erik Marquardt, Greens/EFA

Leitão Marques, S&D

Pierfrancesco Majorino, S&D

Emmanuel Maurel, The Left

Nora Mebarek, S&D

Karen Melchior, RE

Tilly Metz, Greens/EFA

Martina Michels, The Left

Alessandra Moretti, S&D

Javier Nart, RE

Hannah Neumann, Greens/EFA

Ville Niinistö', Greens/EFA

Maria Noichl, S&D

Mounir Satouri, Greens/EFA

Juozas Olekas, S&D

Grace O'Sullivan, Greens/EFA

Dimitros Papadimoulis, The Left

Jutta Paulus, Greens/EFA

Piernicola Pedicini, Greens/EFA

Mikulas Peksa, Greens/EFA

Anne-Sophie Pelletier, The Left

Kira Peter-Hansen, Greens/EFA

Tonino Picula, S&D

Manu Pineda, The Left

Giuliano Pisapia, S&D

Clara Ponsatí, NI

Carles Puigdemont, NI

Samira Rafaela, RE

Evelyn Regner, S&D

Sira Rego, The Left

Terry Reintke, Greens/EFA

Thijs Reuten, S&D

Diana Riba, Greens/EFA

Manuela Ripa, Greens/EFA

Michèle Rivasi, Greens/EFA

Eugenia Rodriguez Palop, The Left

Maria Soraya Rodriguez, RE

Caroline Roose, Greens/EFA

Alfred Sant, S&D

Andreas Schieder, S&D

Helmut Scholz, The Left

Joachim Schuster, S&D

Birgit Sippel, S&D

Massimiliano Smeriglio, S&D

Jordi Solé, Greens/EFA

Martin Sonneborn, NI

Mounir Satouri, Greens/EFA

Maria Spyraki, EPP

Marc Tarabella, S&D

Patricia Toia, S&D



Marie Toussaint, Greens/EFA
István Ujhelyi, S&D
Ernst Urtasun, Greens/EFA
Kathleen van Brempt, S&D
Kim van Sparrentak, Greens/EFA
Monika Vana, Greens/EFA
Idoia Villanueva, The Left
Bettina Vollath, S&D
Thomas Waitz, Greens/EFA
Mick Wallace, The Left
Sarah Wiener, Greens/EFA
Salima Yenbou, Greens/EFA
Tatjana Zdanoka, Greens/EFA

Carlos Zorrinho, S&D